SDGs associated
Action Category

Faculty of Built Environment and Spatial Sciences

In 2015 the faculty of Built Environment and Spatial Sciences (FBESS) of General Sir John Kotelawala Defence university was established as the first faculty of southern campus.

The faculty consists of three departments namely, Department of Architecture, Department of Quantity Surveying and Department of Spatial Sciences. Those departments conduct five degree programs for cadets, day scholars and foreign students. Further, all those degree programs have been designed to meet both local and international professional qualifications.

The faculty is responsible for training and graduating military as well as civil students. The course will be conducted by well experienced academics and professionals in the field. Moreover, strict discipline maintained due to close supervision by the Defence Ministry.


To be a globally acclaimed centre of excellence in Built Environment and Spatial Sciences.


To produce high caliber graduates equipped with essential skills and competence to face diversity of challenges in the fields of Architecture, Quantity Surveying and Surveying Sciences with special emphasis on nationally relevant innovation, creativity and employabilityenabling to beleaderscontributing to environment friendly, technologically advanced, socially viable and economically feasible development in Sri Lanka and elsewhere.

More Information

Latest update: 30.11.2023