SDGs associated
Universities associated
Action Category

School of Environmental Science

The School of Environmental Sciences (SES) is an important interdisciplinary faculty in the University, aims at developing as a Centre of Excellence on issues pertaining to the relevant spheres securing sustainable development of the country emphasising on improved environmental management and better health through imparting postgraduate education and research. 

There are three Professors, one Reader, one Senior Lecturer, and five Lecturers in the department from diverse fields of specialisation ranging from Environmental Microbiology, Stress Physiology, Environmental Biotechnology, Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA), Microbial Ecology, Environmental Toxicology, Environmental Chemistry, Environmental Modelling and Management. The department has also signed MoU with research organisations working in the areas of environment such as Industrial Toxicological Research Centre (ITRC), National Botanical Research Institute (NBRI) and Central Institute of Medicinal and Aromatic Plants (CIMAP). 

The Department organises regular seminars during weekends for the students, where students speak on topic of their choice, in order to harness their oration skills and to create general awareness among them on different aspects of environmental issues. Department is also actively organising special programmes on current topics in the field of environmental sciences from time to time. Department takes pride in not missing the celebration of Ozone Day, World Environment Day, Wildlife-week and World Water Day. Students regularly participate in the extra-curricular activities such as debate competition, essay writing, cultural and sports activities organised by the University.

More Information

Latest update: 23.11.2023